Three New Missouri House Members Serve in Legislature Session

Jan 6, 2016

Matthew Ross/Flickr

Three new Missouri House members are serving in the Legislature in the session that kicked off Wednesday.

GOP House Speaker Todd Richardson swore in two Democrats and a Republican on the first day of session. They were picked in special elections held because of vacancies.

Democrat Rory Rowland is serving in the suburban Kansas City seat vacated when Republican Rep. Noel Torpey resigned before the start of the 2015 session.

Democrat Daron McGee succeeds former Democratic Rep. Kevin McManus of Kansas City.

Republican Dean Plocher took the suburban St. Louis seat previously held by former GOP Rep. John Diehl. Diehl served as House speaker last session but resigned after admitting to exchanging sexually suggestive texts with a Capitol intern.

Republicans hold veto-proof majorities in both the House and Senate.