© 2023 University of Missouri - KBIA
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Major disaster declaration approved for 33 Missouri counties

A white concrete building is shown on a sunny day. There is an image of an eagle carved on the top of the building and 5 pillars outside.
Katie Moum
President Joe Biden has approved Missouri Gov. Mike Parson's request for a major disaster declaration 33 counties following severe weather during the summer.

JEFFERSON CITY - President Joe Biden has approved Missouri Gov. Mike Parson's request for a major disaster declaration.

This will help local government's and nonprofit agencies in 33 counties in response to the several severe weather systems that impacted Missouri from July 29 through Aug. 14, according to a news release.

Following its approval, federal public assistance will be available to repair damaged roads, bridges and other public infrastructures. Associated emergency response and recovery costs will also be reimbursed.

Parson's Sept. 5 request includes more that $14 million in qualifying expenses that have already been identified, according to the release.

“This is important news for the communities that have been repeatedly impacted by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding this summer,” Parson said. “We appreciate the President making federal assistance available, which will provide millions of dollars in much needed support to help repair roads, bridges, and other vitally important infrastructure across the state.”

The following counties are included in the President’s disaster declaration: Adair, Barry, Barton, Bates, Benton, Bollinger, Camden, Christian, Clark, Crawford, Dade, Gentry, Greene, Grundy, Henry, Iron, Knox, Madison, Maries, Mississippi, Morgan, New Madrid, Ozark, Perry, Scotland, Scott, Shelby, St. Clair, Ste. Genevieve, Taney, Vernon, Wayne, and Worth.

The disaster declaration will also now make assistance available statewide through the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Hazard Mitigation Program. This assists with cost-effective measures to reduce the potential for future damage to public infrastructure as a result of natural disasters.

To report an error or typo, email news@komu.com.

KOMU 8 is a full-powered NBC affiliate operating as an independent commercial property. As such, KOMU 8 is the only major network affiliate in the United States that acts as a university-owned commercial television station utilizing its newsroom as a working lab for students.
Related Content