© 2024 University of Missouri - KBIA
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

KBIA Wins 8 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, Including Overall Excellence

KBIA is honored to have been named the winner of 8 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards by the Radio Television Digital News Association. The awards recognize "the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world."

It is the second most wins for any small market radio station in the country in 2020, and the third most KBIA has won in a single year. KBIA has won 34 regional Murrows in the last 4 years.

Here are the winning entries:

Overall Excellence – This is the 6th year in a row that KBIA has won overall excellence in our region. Here is the entry, a summary of our best work in 2019.

Breaking news: How Missouri’s Senate Passed a Restrictive Abortion Bill Overnight

Excellence in Innovation: Missouri Health Talks

Hard News: For Rural Schools in Missouri, Spotting Mental Health Problems Among Kids Often Falls to Teachers

Multimedia: This is the 8th year in a row KBIA has won this award, which is for its overall web presence.

News DocumentaryShow Me the State: The Legend of Doc Annie

Podcast: Show Me the State: The Legend of Doc Annie

Investigative Reporting: Thousands Call Missouri’s Adult Abuse Hotline, But Only Some Get Through

There are 17 categories in each regional competition. KBIA's region includes Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska and Missouri. The entries in these eight categories will go on to the national competition against the winning entries from other regions. Those winners will be announced in the summer.

KBIA has won national Murrows in 5 of the last 6 years, winning for Continuing Coverage in 2018, Excellence in Innovation in 2017, Best Website in 2016, Feature Reporting in 2015, and Best Website in 2014. A KBIA student reporter also won the national Student Edward R. Murrow Award for Excellence in Audio Reporting in 2017.