© 2024 University of Missouri - KBIA
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

View Results Of April 6 Elections Across Greene County

Vox efx
Credit Vox efx / Flickr

Election results from the April 6, 2021 municipal elections in Greene County are posted here.

In Springfield, voters decided on four City Council seats and the position of Mayor of Springfield.

Mayor Ken McClure defeated his challenger, Marcus Aton, by a nearly two-to-one margin. Angela Romine was elected City Council Zone 1 with nearly 54 percent of the vote.  Matthew Simpson was reelected to serve as a councilman for Zone 4, winning 51 percent of votes in that three-way race.  Heather Hardinger won General  Seat A on Springfield City Council, and Councilman Craig Hosmer was reelected to serve in General Seat B on council.  

Voters also elected several new members to the Springfield Public Schools Board of Education. In a tight race, newcomers Maryam Mohammadkhani, Scott Crise and Danielle Kincaid have been elected to serve on the school board. 

Several municipalities throughout Greene County held elections as well. Voter turnout county-wide was 13.25 percent, according to the Greene County Clerk's website.

Copyright 2021 KSMU. To see more, visit KSMU.

As the Journalist-in-Residence at Missouri State University, Jennifer teaches undergraduate and graduate students, oversees a semester-long, team reporting project, and contributes weekly stories to KSMU Radio in the area of public affairs journalism.