© 2022 University of Missouri - KBIA
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Missouri J-school honors 10 global journalists

Ten journalists were given the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism.

A former USA Today editor and a Pakistani reporter who risked his life to cover the news are among this year's winners of the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism.

The winners include former USA Today editor Ken Paulson, current president of the First Amendment Center at Vanderbilt University. Umar Cheema, an investigative reporter for the Pakistani newspaper The News, who also worked for The New York Times, also was honored.

The other medalists are National Geographic photographer Jodi Cobb; Egyptian columnist Mona Eltahawy: Denver TV anchor John Ferrugia; Chinese magazine editor Hu Shuli; investigative editor Jeff Leen of The Washington Post; New York magazine editor-in-chief Adam Moss; The New York Times' graphics department; and advertising executive Fred Papert.

The awards will be presented in October.

The Associated Press is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering, supplying a steady stream of news to its members, international subscribers and commercial customers. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, it's a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members.