© 2023 University of Missouri - KBIA
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

For the 4th Year in a Row, KBIA Wins a National Edward R. Murrow Award

KBIA has won the National Edward R. Murrow Award for Excellence in Innovation among small market radio stations in the country. The Radio Television Digital News Association announced the national award winners Tuesday morning.

KBIA won the award for the work of Digital Content Director Nathan Lawrence. Lawrence created a unique Jekyll-based special projects workflow, which creates experiences that let a piece’s writers focus on its content while also providing maximum flexibility. “An Uncertain Road” is an example of the way this tool was applied for a special series on premature birth. KBIA has also utilized the interface on projects like Mizzou at a Crossroads and My Life, My Town.

This win comes on the heels of RTDNA’s announcement of the national student Edward R Murrow Award winners last month, when former KBIA student reporter Emerald O’Brien won the award for audio reporting for her story “Putting Columbia’s Payphone Mystery to Rest.”

Both of these awards will presented at a Gala in New York City in October.

KBIA also won 10 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards this year, the most of any small market radio station in the country, including a win in the “Overall Excellence” category.

This is the fourth year in a row that KBIA has been honored with a national Edward R. Murrow Award, and the first time it has also won a student Murrow award. KBIA won the national award for best website in 2014 and 2016, and for feature reporting in 2015. KBIA also won a national Edward R. Murrow Award for News Documentary in 2006 and for Investigative Reporting in 2007.

Related Content