© 2022 University of Missouri - KBIA
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Arts and Culture

KBIA Wins Five Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards


The Radio and Television Digital News Association has awarded KBIA five prestigious Edward R. Murrow awards for our work as a small-market radio station in region 5. These awards recognize "the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world."

The awards were:

  • Overall Excellence. Every professional staff member on KBIA's news team had stories included in the entry. A number of current and former students were also involved in the stories in this entry including, but not limited to, James Gordon, Caty Eisterhold, Ailin Li, Kara Tabor, Hellen Tian, Sarah Kellogg, Emerald O’Brien, Ashley Reese and Heather Adams.

  • Best Website.

  • Continuing coverage, for work on racial issues and unrest in Columbia and at the University of Missouri throughout 2015. Entries included all members of the KBIA professional news team, as well as student Ross Terrell.

  • News Series, for Shortage in Rich Land, Kristofor Husted and Bram Sable Smith's series on issues in the Missouri Bootheel.

  • Hard News, for Kristofor Husted's feature on immigrant farm workers' housing.

There are 13 categories in each regional competition. KBIA's region includes Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska and Missouri. The entries in these five categories will go on to the national competition against the winning entries from other regions. Those winners will be announced in June.
KBIA won a national Edward R. Murrow award in 2015 for Feature Reporting, and another national award in 2014 for Best Website.

Related Content